• Join us — it's free!

We are the premiere internet community for New York Rangers news and fan discussion. Don't wait — join the forum today!

IGNORED

The Covid Career Shakeup

shestYORKin

quit my job during COVID after 18yrs. it served me and my family well but it was time. I had a transition plan but it didn’t exactly pan out so I’m underemployed for now. no complaints though, the adjustment has perks like less stress and an actual work/life balance. basically less death and less taxes. 

anyway with workforce shortages across the board I’m sure many people in the same boat. earlier this year Google put out a handful of certification programs to help people transition careers without previous experience in an attempt to fill some of the needs out there. I’m a fairly tech savvy number cruncher so I’m eyeballing the data analytics course. (not exactly hockey related as I still have a soft spot for grit and Blais’ bad penalties in the offensive zone). 

shot in the dark here if anyone’s familiar with the Google offerings or maybe going through a similar career shift right now with some success. I have questions. 🙂

• Cheers 1

I've never seen these Google certs, and not sure it would make me want a candidate more than anyone without. 

Also, a step backwards is a red flag. Not career necessarily in jobs, but if someone has a Bachelor degree and goes back for an associates in something else - it's a red flag. That indicates they either have non transferable skills or they simply don't understand how their knowledge,  skills and abilities can be transferable into different jobs.

What did you do? What do you want to do?

Right now, it's all about attitude. Willingness to learn, try, and show up for work.