• Join us — it's free!

We are the premiere internet community for New York Rangers news and fan discussion. Don't wait — join the forum today!

IGNORED

More Players Step Forward in Hockey Canada Sex Assault Investigation as Probe is Re-Opened

Phil

Slowly but surely, the players from Canada’s 2018 world junior hockey team are speaking up, distancing themselves from an alleged sex assault after a team reunion that has shaken Hockey Canada to its core.

Arizona Coyotes defenceman Conor Timmins was the latest to step forward, with management group Quartexx tweeting on his behalf: “I am aware of the allegations made against some of the members of the 2018 Canadian World Junior Hockey team at the London, Ontario gala event in June of 2018. I was not involved in any way in the incident that gave rise to the allegations that have been reported. No one alleges that I was present or involved and I have no personal knowledge of what occurred.”

Timmins — who also pledged to “continue to co-operate” with investigations — is the 14th player from the team of 22 to step forward with a statement either directly or through a representative. Some have proclaimed innocence. Most have promised co-operation. Some simply reminded fans they weren’t at the event.

Hockey Canada recently announced it would be reopening an investigation into the alleged incident involving eight unidentified players, including members of that 2018 team. The NHL also promises to reveal the results of its own investigation when it is complete.

https://www.thestar.com/sports/hockey/2022/07/18/more-players-step-forward-in-hockey-canada-sex-assault-investigation.html

--

TSN first reported on the allegations in May, citing a lawsuit filed by the woman who made the allegation earlier this year. In it, she alleged eight players from the Canadian Hockey League and the World Junior championship team bought her alcoholic beverages and that she went back to a nearby hotel with one of the players.