...each team will play 76 games except the five California teams in the new Pacific Division (Bakersfield Condors, Ontario Reign, San Diego Gulls, San Jose Barracuda and Stockton Heat); they will play 68 games each. The Texas Stars and San Antonio Rampage, the other two teams in the Pacific Division, will play 76 games.

Because of the unbalanced schedule, teams will qualify for the Calder Cup Playoffs based on points percentage, with the top four teams in each of the four divisions qualifying for the postseason. Teams will still receive two points for a win and one point for an overtime or shootout loss.
The overtime format will also change; teams will change ends after the third period and there will be a dry scrape of the ice. Teams will skate 3-on-3 for five minutes, followed by a shootout if necessary.